THEMpeople – Smoke Breaks IV

Smoke Breaks IV is a new mixtape from the Chicago based Production/Artist collective known as THEMpeople. The collective has been very important in the Chicago music scene over the years, having worked intensively with Chance The Rapper on 10 Day as well as many more of the upcoming artists you’re coming to know from Chicago like Leather Corduroys, Mick Jenkins, and Jean Deaux. Smoke Breaks IV features THEMpeople artists Michael Anthony, Sean Deaux, and THE Mind as well as Vic Mensa, Joey Purp, Dally Austin, Alex Wiley, Mick Jenkins, Legit and others creating a new Native Tongues like movement brewing in Chicago. Smoke Breaks IV also features a gem of an unreleased Chance The Rapper song titled “The Writer” which was left off of Chance’s 1st mixtape 10 Day, yet still holds precedent now.

Working with so many projects up close and person has allowed THEM to create a composition that reflected the actual rotation of people coming to the studio. One session would run into another that cycle then created a circle. Although the circle may not always be publicly visible Smoke Breaks IV is an attempt to not only showcase Chicago to the world but most importantly, showcasing Chicago to Chicago, which is a very segregated city. The THEMpeople collective is basically creating the soundtrack that acts as a sonic picture of our evolving scene in Chicago.

*THEMpeople is a Proudction/Artist Circle consisting of

Michael Anthony (Art direction/Artist/ Producer), Lon Renzel(Engineer/Producer) Sean Deaux (Producer) and THE Mind …(Artist/Live Direction)

One Independent Artist THEMpeople soley produce Via Rosa

About Vick 10912 Articles
Team NatStar & Curbside Jones.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply